Little (make up) secrets

These days I have been so occupied with second year in UoM and working part time, and everything else that I have been experiencing. I like to share it here not only as a form as amusement for some of my readers, but also for me to look back on.

SO TODAY. I’m gonna let you on ten little secrets that I have earned by going up and down the stairs carrying ice creams and waffles..

Right.. start going up the stairs now!

You can do that or you can just put aside 65 pounds and head on to NARS in Trafford Centre, and book yourself in and experience the secrets first hand, which I highly recommend. Trust me, its not the same as reading it from here.

When I arrived, I was already so late due to the unpredicted traffic, but Tonni, was kind enough to still entertain me. She started off with eye make up.

Smokey eyes.
1. START FROM THE OUTER (upper) LASH LINE. and work it towards the inner eyelid and upper eyelid.
2. Smokey eyes does not necessarily have to be with brown or black pigments
3. Do the same thing with the lower lash line.
4. Put on eyeliner on waterline, both upper and lower waterline.
5. Put eyeliner just above the lashes (the usual way). If you are going for the wing liner, its always helpful to separate the stroke into two. Do it from middle to the outer bit,  and then from the middle to the inner eye.
6. Put on mascara throughly. The usual way, where you stroke it upwards from below AND stroke it down from the top towards the tip.

and then we moved on to skin. Tonni emphasised the importance of moisturising before putting on make up on face and a primer if you wear foundation.

Now the thing about primer is that what I understood was it helps with greater endurance and hold of makeup for a substantial amount of time compared to when you don’t wear a primer. Which was not something I’m concern of in particular because i barely wear foundation, and when I do, it is never for long hours.

What I didn’t know is that,

7. PRIMER also acts as a barrier, it minimises the risk of makeup to be absorbed into the skin, which can lead to break outs and other skin problems.

I have a very warm skin tone, so she picked out three shades to swatch on my face. One was very light (which is honestly what people i see most would pick out I think) the other one is slightly lighter and the third one completely disappear upon application because thats my exact skin tone. She asked me which one I would prefer but she recommended the slightly lighter one so it is easier for contouring and bronzing.

8. Tonni recommended applying foundation with clean hands, as it would warm up the product and activate it.

9. Contour using the number three guideline on your face, if you put it according to your cheekbone structure, it will emphasize it better.

And then we moved on to the lips. I told her I like very warm, red and pinks.. mainly because I cannot pull off nude lips. So she wanted to show me that I could.

10. Nude lipstick should always be accompanied with a darker lip liner , so that the colour won’t wash off your complexion.

She tried to tackle my eyebrows with he natural approach, but I don’t think I liked it, because my eyebrows were too messy for natural-ness.

Trust me, I wanted to get everything that she used on me, but maaaan NARS require LOADS of going up and down the stairs with ice cream.

I’m a sucker for their lipsticks sooo I ended buying lipsticks, and primer. I also got something from NARS skin range, eyeshadow primer and mini lipstick.

Leave a comment