Good lighting

Manchester receives very few sunny days, and obviously as a person who loves going out, those few days are immensely precious.

Today, is one of those days, and it lifted up my mood despite having inadequate number of hours to sleep. Getting ready was a pretty lengthy process for me, from colour coordinating my clothes (cuz I’m in a good mood) to patting my face with 6 types of products and attempting to not look like a zombie (have you seen my dark eye circles?) by putting pigments on my face. 

I was not late to walk to class, so I took my time.  I wanted to check my face using natural lighting so I was standing in front of my house door in different angles. I was still inside of my house then.

I went out and looked towards the sunlight, and took out my phone, wanting to get a selfie because guys, the sun makes me look less dead okay!! 

I spin around to find a good lighting. Okay 20 degrees to the left, oh wait a bit right, ah perfect. And then I was walking towards the sunlight while looking at the camera and then saw my Malaysian neighbour walking towards me and panicked and pretended to read something on my phone and walked quickly. So. Embarrassing.

I managed to stifle a huh, a literal h-u-h because I wanted to say hi but I also want to laugh at my silliness and at that point my brain got confused at converge those hi and haha into a huh. 

I wondered for a bit why he was going the other way and I suddenly realised it’s because my campus is on the other side, and I was going the opposite way!!

All. Because. Of. Sunlight.

Sometimes I feel like I’m a plant that grows towards sunlight I should quit becoming human 

Anyways, I turned around and didn’t see my neighbour so, I walked slowly, in the opposite way, through the dodgy alley (a shortcut, really) and thought fuhh that was so close to becoming totally uncool. 
I got out to the Main Street and while still enjoying the sunlight, and wanted to cross the road to get on the bus because after all that, I was already late to enjoy walking in the sun, and then I saw my neighbour at the bus stop.

That’s it. He saw me. 

I’m officially weird and uncool.

I decided to walk my own version of walk of shame to class. 

Leave a comment